Home » Leadership » How To Tackle A New Assignment

How To Tackle A New Assignment

1813146100_786c34cc02_m

I’m in a  time of transition at the moment and getting ready to go into a new assignment, so this new book by Tim Watkins sounds interesting.

One of the better books that I have read is called The First 90 Days – Success Strategies for New Leaders by Harvard professor Michael Watkins.  The book is tailored to people who are  new to leadership roles.  This book is not only for new “people managers”, but many of the strategies discussed can be applied to just about anyone taking on a leadership role (e.g. Project Managers) or someone taking on a new role in their community (e.g. Cub Scout Den Leaders). (via stuff for getting things done)

One of the keys that I’ve found that helps create a smooth transition is preparation. That during the quite time before the big change read everything you can get your hands on that relates to the new assignment. Take some quality time and map out some goals. You know dream big…because I’d rather miss hitting the mark on a grandiose plan than be successful at reaching a mediocre one.

 

Related Posts

Technorati Tags: ,
One thought on “How To Tackle A New Assignment

  1. From your previous posts, it looks like you are a fellow Nozbe user. I found that the weekly review (bi-weekly) in my implementation helps me stay on top of things, and for the planning phase Nozbe helps too. I’ve developed some project templates that I import into each new project, depending on type, so I don’t even have to manually enter each task anymore. And Nozbe allows me to view my entire GTD at work on my Win machine, at home on my Macs and even on my cell phone. And another app lets me call in tasks to my GTD without any writing or typing, great for those thoughts that hit me while driving. I’ve written about my experiences with GTD in a blog post at http://johnkendrick.wordpress.com/2008/03/27/more-getting-things-done/ John

Leave a Reply

